top of page

Trigger Warning

The content below may be potentially triggering to some individuals.

Post: Text

Losing my Centre of Existence

Updated: Sep 19, 2021

Dear maa,

Every night before sleeping

I ask myself, are you really gone?

The thought of you not being there shatters me and here I am,

Reproaching you for leaving me behind

The clock is ticking fast and I’m sitting there staring at the mirror,

Regretting each and every chance I had

The rosy pink smile is now vanishing and I feel even weak

I miss your fingers intertwined in mine, our hands held

As we walked on the beach, the waves niggling at our toes

I cry, thinking of you and wiping my tears, kissing my forehead

Every time I turned away from the darkroom, in fear

I try to hold on, believing that one day I will meet you, talk to you, hug you again

Surrounding myself with positive thoughts and trying to stay happy

But as soon as it's 3:30 am, I hear papa‘s voices in my head all over again

Crying for help, rushing you to the hospital

Hoping that you would be back soon

But maa, in a split second, everything changed

Where the mother was the centre of my existence, now that centre, that anchor is lost

And I miss you even more as the day passes.


-Navya Gupta

Instagram ID: @navyagupta14






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page