top of page

Trigger Warning

The content below may be potentially triggering to some individuals.

Post: Text

I promise, I'll wave back at you

Papa, I am sorry,

I know I should have told someone

but silence is my language

I am used to people not being here, you know

Lately, loneliness has been my greatest teacher.


When I was 5 years old

I was told that being born is my mistake

even though, family is someone

who is supposed to tell you that they love you

because there is ily in fam(ily)

even though, childhood is something

which should be covered in warm hugs, care, and love

mine was cut into slices with a velvet glove.


as I grew up to be a teen

Mumma, she cut and wiped the slate clean

maybe if I wasn't a girl

things would have been different

but no matter how much I played with car toys

she was still numb to my voice.



five years later

you died

you waved me from across them moon every night

but since that day

there was never a day when I and Mumma didn't have a fight

you were the only ray of light

I remember you used to write

about your daughter

all grown up and mature

little did you know

you were the author

to my fictional character.



you never gave up on me

and taught me

how to find the lock and the key

every time you used tell me your childhood stories

you told me

how you thought

that when you'd grow up and have children

you'd never let them feel alone

and today as I end this letter

I promise you

every lonely night

as I read this aloud to you

I promise I’ll wave back at you

I promise

I'll wave back at you.







12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page