top of page

Trigger Warning

The content below may be potentially triggering to some individuals.

Post: Text

Unprecedented Times Require Unprecedented Measures

Updated: Sep 19, 2021

Unprecedented - what does this word mean?

In a general sense, it refers to something never done or known before.

With context to the present day situation? A widespread pandemic of the disease Coronavirus (COVID-19) wreaking havoc all around the globe, causing the loss of almost 500,000 lives till date.

It started in December with the first case in Wuhan, China. Swept under the rug and dismissed as just another disease, many countries maintained a casual attitude towards it. With globalization comes the big risk of transmission of diseases - and we saw it through this unfortunate series of events.

Within a few months, this virus had taken over the world and was only increasing in its reach leading to the obvious implementation of social distancing and quarantine.


If you told me a few months ago, that I would be staying at home with my family members, including my college-going elder brother, attending my school and coaching classes through video call, wearing a mask every time I left the house for something important, wouldn’t be visiting my grandparents who I saw every single day since I was a child for weeks on end and wouldn’t hug them even when I did, I would have told you that you’re out of your mind!

But here I am, living this scenario.


Has it been difficult? Yes.

But was it necessary? Yes.


Staying at home for such long periods can be very taxing on our physical as well as mental health but the only way the spread of this disease will decline.

The entire country’s economy has come to a halt yet what can possibly be done when there are lives at stake? Hospitals are overridden with patients and doctors aren’t being able to meet their loved ones as their presence could be fatal to them! While the government is trying their level best to accommodate such unusual circumstances with ease, it is not being able to. These uncalled-for changes in our lifestyles have been incredibly demanding but every cloud has a silver lining. Being able to spend uninterrupted time with our loved ones isn’t a common occurrence. I’ve seen a strengthening in the bonds I share with the family members I live with and I am so grateful for it. I personally found solace in books, movies and television shows that I never had time to catch up on due to the hectic schedule I had with hours of commute. I’m working on understanding myself better and prioritizing my duties as a student, daughter, sister and friend.


To avoid loneliness and stress while being stuck at home you must stay active. The temptation to do nothing is strong but you should try to resist it. Keep your eating in check. For many, stress and anxiety leads to unhealthy and mindless consumption of food. Along with healthy eating, exercise is vital for your physical and mental well-being. I have found it to be a very good release of my bottled up emotions. Look after key relationships (your partner, your children, parents and grandparents, siblings, closest friends, etc.) but also stay dutiful as a citizen of this country. At this crucial time we need to put our personal desires of socializing aside. All this free time can lead to either excessive amounts of sleeping or none at all! Stick to a healthy amount of hours to stay fresh and at ease. Cut down on social media! Although, it seems like the only way to stay in touch with friends it creates a need for comparison and leads to overthinking. Learn something new instead! Maybe a new instrument? Or a new language? Or how to cook some delicious dishes for your family and yourself? Watch beautiful films you’ve always wanted to and read books that’ll expand your horizons - books that have nothing to do with the current crisis, fiction or nonfiction, can be such a wonderful distraction.


Remember that all crises end eventually. By the time this one is over, there will have been a lot of death, a lot of grief, a lot of suffering. But it will end, and most of the world will still be here so keep things in perspective and don’t panic. Once it ends, you’ll be stepping out into a world that has cleaner air and hopefully, kinder people.

There’s an African proverb that says ‘However long the night, the dawn will break’. Patience and love can get us through this. And well, everything else too.


-Vani Malhotra



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page