top of page

Trigger Warning

The content below may be potentially triggering to some individuals.

Post: Text

A Promise to the Moon

Updated: Sep 19, 2021

I was loved

Just like the sun loves the moon.

Yes, it’s true they’re miles apart,

but they're still in love.

The moon's had her heart broken, once.

She’s afraid to, to show herself.

She disappears once in a while,

but she’s still there, hiding in the darkness all alone.

The sun loves her.

Because once in a while when she’s feeling okay,

she decides to come out and show her full shine and perfectly round face.

Oh! How bright does her light shine.

“Why do you put up with this?”, asked the moon

“You could have anyone you like, maybe the one who shows up more often,

someone you don’t have to look for in the darkness,

so why me?”

“Oh! but I only love you”, said the sun

“Even once a decade is enough to keep me going yet you’re kind enough to show yourself every 15 days...

I’ll search for you in every dim lit galaxy and will not stop till I see you glowing again”

"What if I run out of light?", asked the moon

"It’s okay, love. Then, I shall give you mine", replied the sun.

And that, my friends, is how the moon still shines. It shines because promises were made, and they were kept.


-Kajal Lochab

Instagram ID: @kajal_lochab





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page